January 16, 2024


Holland, MI- Ottawa Area ISD appreciates the hard work and dedication of OAISD School Board members every day. This month, OAISD joins 55 other intermediate school districts across Michigan to celebrate January as School Board Recognition Month. We commend our board members for their efforts in supporting equitable student achievement and exceptional education programs for all students in Ottawa and parts of Allegan counties.

Photo of the Board of Ed

“Our Board has a long-held tradition of visionary leadership, and this past year has been truly exceptional,” Ottawa Area ISD Superintendent Kyle Mayer, Ph.D., said. “We are an organization rising to meet community needs as we expand facilities and services. Soon, we will serve more students and provide more comprehensive educational supports within the Ottawa Area than ever before.”

Dr. Mayer also shared the mission of OAISD is to ensure that all learners in the Ottawa area have an opportunity to realize their potential, both as individuals and as part of a thriving community. 

“Our entire team is thankful for the culture of support, trust and commitment our Board promotes as we carry out that work and make a difference for learners of all ages in the OAISD,” Dr. Mayer said.

To support and advance student success, our dedicated school board members volunteer their time to focus on many educational needs. Some of these include creating a vision that meets the aspirations of parents and community members for the future of their school district, accounting for the decision outcomes, monitoring progress and communicating results, aligning the use of the district’s human and financial resources, and fostering a safe and orderly environment where students can learn and teachers can teach.

Individuals serving on the Ottawa Area Intermediate School District Board of Education are as follows: 

  • Ms. Carol Slagh, President, of Zeeland (20 years of service)
  • Mr. Randy Schipper, Vice President, of Holland (7 years of service)
  • Mr. Rick Dernberger, Treasurer, of Zeeland (5 years of service) 
  • Ms. Robyn Afrik, Secretary, of Holland (3 years of service)
  • Mr. Marc Eickholt, Trustee, of Grand Haven (1 year of service)

Ottawa Area Intermediate School District (OAISD) collaborates with local schools and communities to support the educational needs of individuals from birth through all ages in the Ottawa region. By pooling resources and delivering services on a regional scale, Ottawa Area ISD efficiently provides essential programs and services to local K-12 public, charter, and parochial schools, as well as to families and adult learners, ensuring these offerings are both comprehensive and cost-effective. Visit www.oaisd.org to learn more.