June 6, 2023


Holland, MI – During a special Board of Education election meeting tonight, delegates from 11 public school district boards of education cast their votes for candidates vying for two open seats on the Ottawa Area ISD Board.

Randy Schipper Marc Eickholt

Incumbent Randy Schipper, a Holland resident and West Ottawa School Board member, was re-elected for another term. Grand Haven resident and Grand Haven Area Public Schools Board member Marc Eickholt was elected to serve his first term on the OAISD Board. Schipper and Eickholt will begin their six-year terms on July 1, 2023. 

OAISD Board President Carol Slagh believes both individuals bring a wealth of experience, passion, and strong commitment to education that will contribute to the continued growth and success of our educational community.

“In their role, Randy and Marc will have the opportunity to make a significant impact on shaping educational policies, fostering student success, and representing the interests of our community,” Slagh said. “We have full confidence in their abilities to learn, serve, lead, and collaborate effectively, ensuring that the needs of students, families, and educators are prioritized.”

Newly-elected Board member Marc Eickholt said he is honored to be chosen to serve the OAISD’s community of diverse learners and stakeholders as a Board member. 

“I was lucky enough to spend several years working at OAISD (2016-2021) which gave me great insight into what a special and invaluable organization it is with the breadth of services offered to both learners and local districts throughout the area. With this sort of a homecoming, I'm looking forward to collaborating with my fellow Board members, OAISD administration, and wonderful staff to further the mission and vision of this great community asset,” Eickholt added.

Incumbent Randy Schipper was thrilled to be re-elected and serve another term supporting the district.

“I’m very thankful for the support from our local school boards, and would like to express how much I appreciate receiving their votes of confidence. I’m looking forward to continuing my service to the OAISD students, families and staff,” added Schipper.

The other three candidates were Vanessa Wilhelm, Grand Haven; Roger Williams, Grand Haven; and Eric Miller, Zeeland.   

Nine of the 11 local district boards of education cast their two votes for Schipper and Eickholt and include Coopersville Area Public Schools, Grand Haven Area Public Schools, Holland Public Schools, Hudsonville Public Schools, Jenison Public Schools, Saugatuck Public Schools, Spring Lake Public Schools, West Ottawa Public Schools, and Zeeland Public Schools. The Allendale Board of Education voted for Vanessa Wilhelm and Roger Williams, and the Hamilton Board of Education voted for Randy Schipper and Roger Williams.

OAISD Superintedent Dr. Kyle Mayer added, “On behalf of Ottawa Area ISD, we extend our congratulations to Randy Schipper and Marc Eickholt on their upcoming service as board members and look forward to their invaluable contributions and the positive impact they will make in their respective roles.”

For more information, contact Linda Brasser at 616.738.8940 x4005 or

Ottawa Area Intermediate School District

Ottawa Area ISD works collaboratively with schools and communities to meet the educational needs of students of all ages in the Ottawa area. By pooling resources and providing services regionally, Ottawa Area ISD provides important programs and services to local K‐12 school districts, charter, parochial and private schools and adults in the most cost‐effective ways possible. To learn more about Ottawa Area ISD visit