May 16, 2023


HOLLAND, MI - Five candidates will appear on the ballot for two seats on the Ottawa Area Intermediate School District Board of Education. The deadline for filing petitions for the positions was May 8, 2023. 

Candidates for the six-year terms are Mark Eickholt, Grand Haven; Vanessa Wilhelm, Grand Haven; Roger Williams, Grand Haven; Eric Miller, Zeeland; and incumbent Randy Schipper, Holland.   

One seat is being vacated by Grand Haven resident John Siemion who is wrapping up six years of dedicated service on the OAISD Board.

The process for electing intermediate school district board members differs from local school district board elections. The eleven local district Boards of Education served by Ottawa Area Intermediate School District appoint a delegate to cast their votes at a special meeting which will take place Monday, June 5, 2023. The successful candidates will assume their new duties on July 1, 2023. No more than two individuals representing the same school district may serve concurrently on an ISD Board of Education.

Delegates represent the following public school districts:  Allendale, Coopersville, Grand Haven, Hamilton, Holland, Hudsonville, Jenison, Saugatuck, Spring Lake, West Ottawa, and Zeeland.

For more information, contact Linda Brasser at 616.738.8940 x4005 or

Ottawa Area Intermediate School District

Ottawa Area ISD works collaboratively with schools and communities to meet the educational needs of students of all ages in the Ottawa area. By pooling resources and providing services regionally, Ottawa Area ISD provides important programs and services to local K‐12 school districts, charter, parochial and private schools and adults in the most cost‐effective ways possible. To learn more about Ottawa Area ISD visit